A Different Way

to look at Life, Health, Business and Politics

Health Clubs

Posted by Marietta chiropractor on February 19, 2008

Over the last year I’ve lost about 50 pounds. It’s been done by combining a reasonable eating plan and regular exercise. The eating plan is Michael Thurmond’s 6 Week Body Makeover. Simple and straight forward. The exercise program has been a combination of resistance workouts and cardiovascular work.

I’ve always enjoyed working out. Over the years, I’ve tried at home workout devices or health club memberships. By far, I enjoy working out at the health club a lot more than at home. Some folks just don’t like going to the gym. They give lots of different reasons, like “It’s just a meat market. People only go there to pick up or get picked up” or “It’s intimidating with all those hard bodies strutting around in their Spandex outfits” or “I don’t want someone to see me in the shape I’m in”.

Well, in some ways they’d be right. Some people DO go to the gym to meet people. There definitely can be a social aspect to working out in an open setting. But, let me ask you. Isn’t the gym a much better place to meet someone than a bar? Wouldn’t you rather date someone who doesn’t smoke and is spending their spare time building health? Oh yeah, I used to be one of those folks who didn’t want folks see me at the gym while I was in such bad shape. Funny thing, I bump into people I know all the time outside the gym. At least if they see me in the gym, I’m doing something about it. And as far as those hard bodies go, one of the greatest motivators for me has been being able to spot folks who have my body type and the build I want to have and then watch how they work out.

Now, I know if you’re married your purpose in working out is NOT to meet someone to date. Or at least, I hope it’s not. But, it is a different way to meet other adults or make friends around a healthy activity. I really think a gym membership is a great thing for married folks. It’s a place you can go for even just a little while to get away and do something good for yourself. It’s hard being with the kids all day or at the office all day and not have time to yourself.

One of the great benefits of the health club is the choice of equipment, classes and activities available to you. At the gym where I work out, they even have basketball and racquetball courts and even a lap pool. In other words, you’re not limited to the expensive (or cheap) equipment you bought that’s probably now being used to hang your clothes on.

I’m trying to think of some drawbacks to belonging to a health club because I know someone’s looking for an excuse not to find and join one. OK. Here’s one. They’re too big and too crowded. That’s a valid objection. But, I’ve found that it works bet for me to go BEFORE I go to work and before the big crowds hit the gym. Here’s another. They’re just sales machines and their salespeople are pushy as heck. That’s true, too, in some cases. But, I’ve found that if you’ll look around and educate yourself on the different programs offered by different clubs in your area, you can effectively deal with pushy salespeople. And if they’re too pushy COMPLAIN to the management. OK. Here’s just one more. It’s too expensive! Well, that might be stretching it a bit. I workout at LA Fitness for only $35. I think Gold’s Gym, Crunch, etc. have similar programs. There’s a new club in the Atlanta area, called Just Fitness, that charges about half that. And, there’s always the YMCA and other non-profit health facilities, as well.

If health and fitness is something you want in your life, find a health club. Join it. Use it. You’ll be amazed at how good you can look and feel with a little consistent effort. And guess what. You just might meet some nice, healthy people while you do it.

One Response to “Health Clubs”

  1. I’ve been reading your site for a while now and just built up the courage to to say something. I’d like to begin by saying that articles like this one gives people a much better idea about keeping in shape. I’ve saved this blog and am going to come back soon to read some more good artices.

Leave a Reply

 
