A Different Way

to look at Life, Health, Business and Politics

Why I Don’t Take Medicine

Posted by Marietta chiropractor on March 9, 2008

Many of my friends think I’m a little crazy because I don’t take medicine.  It’s funny in a way.  Some people think it’s because I’m a chiropractor, I’ve been brainwashed into hating both medicine and Medicine.  But, it’s really just the opposite.  Chiropractic made sense to me BECAUSE of my skepticism and cynicism about drugs and the practice of medicine.

Don’t get me wrong.  There have been times in my life when I have taken medicine, usually over-the-counter pain killers for an occasional headache or when my back would go out.  BUT, it’s been almost twenty years since I’ve taken a pill of any kind.  And, I will admit that both of my kids have been to the Emergency Room.  In my mind medicine shines in the Emergency Room.

And at this point, I must say that while I’d like to help thousands (why not millions) of people learn to live a life without dependence on drugs, I never feel compelled to tell them NOT to take drugs.  Yes, of course I want to help people get off drugs.  But that’s a personal decision.

But for me, the thought of taking pills for virtually ANY condition has always repulsed me.   I grew up in a home where both parents were alcoholics.  At that time there were few drugs for depression or anxiety.  So, they self-medicated their pain and misery with booze.  Then, they’d have to take aspirin the next day to cope with hangovers.  Then, maybe Pepto Bismol  to settle their stomach from the effects of drinking and bad eating.  And over the years, I’ve seen friends and family members taken untold different drugs to manage symptoms or conditions and then to manage side effects of the drugs taken for the original symptoms.

Another thing that affected me deeply was watching my other live in constant fear of the dreaded “C” word, cancer.  I remember her taking vitamins and other supplements out of sheer fear of cancer.  She would do anything to avoid the disease.  She feared even going to the doctor because she thought that whatever symptoms she might be experiencing was cancer.  When she died at 43, it was from liver failure cause by her self-medication with alcohol WITHOUT any evidence of cancer whatsoever.

I decided early on that I would live my life to the fullest, staying as healthy as I could and getting everything I could from every experience, good or bad, without having to lean on some drug to help me thought the day or the problem.  And I must tell you, I don’t worry about heart disease, cancer, stroke, anxiety, depression, restless leg syndrome or whatever the disease dujour might be.  Because I know that drugs are not part of my health regimen, neither is disease.  It really is an awesome way to live.

The premise that our bodies were designed for health and NOT with a deficit of drugs or too many parts  simply makes sense to me.  And honestly, most of the people who come to me have already tried the medical approach with little or no success and have decided to try a drug-free approach.  And if you wanted to live a life free of drugs and fear of disease, wouldn’t you want a doctor who lived that lifestyle himself?  I believe so.

One Response to “Why I Don’t Take Medicine”

  1. Amazing. I live in continuous discomfort from a decade and a half of construction work and my previous life experiences with my family have led me down the same path regarding medication. I have had a prescription or two, but never went to even pick them up from the drug store.

Leave a Reply

 
