A Different Way

to look at Life, Health, Business and Politics

Maybe I take this chiropractic thing too much for granted

Posted by Marietta chiropractor on August 9, 2008

Today I attended a family function with a friend.  There was a couple there who were foster parents to the cutest little 2 year old girl.

At some time during the function, the mother revealed to my date that the little girl had a problem walking correctly.  Apparently she had asked her pediatrician what could be wrong with the child and was told that there was nothing wrong with the little girl.  But, that just didn’t seem right to the foster mom because she could see clearly that the child was not waling correctly.

When it was revealed that I was a chiropractor, I was asked what I thought.  I told the story of how when my own daughter was born, her hips were rotated at least 45 degrees to one side and that the MDs had called a pediatric orthopedist to fit her for a brace.  As soon as my baby girl received a simple, light adjustment, her hips re-aligned themselves almost instantly.  The foster mother asked if I’d check the little girl.  Obviously, I said, “Of course”.  A simple adjustment of the sacrum (tail bone) and a light cervical adjustment and the little girl was walking normally.  The mom looked at me with tears in her eyes and said, “That is the FIRST normal step she has EVER taken”.

I guess, sometimes I take for granted how powerful it is to restore normal function to someone who either has never experienced, or barely remembers, what NORMAL really is.  Normal is NOT that “for people to have one short leg” or “to have headaches on a regular basis” or “to have a chemical imbalance”.  No, normal is when your body functions at it’s highest possible potential.  NORMAL is GOOD health, happiness, joy, peace of mind and a full enjoyment of life.  It’s NOT normal to have to take something to make you feel better or to dull the senses and/or emotions so you can make it through the day.

I promise not to take for granted that people KNOW they can be better and that I can help as a chiropractor.  And, I’d appreciate you not taking your health for granted, as well.  And, don’t take for granted that you can’t ask a chiropractor about your health.  You’d be amazed at what a truly second opinion could do for you.

Leave a Reply

 
