A Different Way

to look at Life, Health, Business and Politics

Why doesn’t Tamiflu work?

Posted by Marietta chiropractor on January 9, 2009

Just out.  America’s favorite antiviral drug, Tamiflu apparently doesn’t work.  A new article in the International Tribune, says that Tamiflu only helps improve flu symptoms 1% of the time.  Excuse me.  But DUH!

Apparently, we’re starting to realize that the flu virus changes (mutates) faster than drug manufacturers can make new drugs OR even anticipate which strain to attack.  When will we EVER learn that it’s easier to work WITH Mother Nature than against her?

Here’s a link to the article.  I’d love to hear what you think.

3 Responses to “Why doesn’t Tamiflu work?”

  1. PEHudson said

    I am in the throes of a bad swab-diagnosed Swine Flu involvement. I can attest to the fact that Tamiflu has helped me considerably. I had an unusually high fever – started tamiflu within 36 hours and it broke 24 hours later. It does help. I would recommend it!

  2. christina said

    Tamiflu does work. I am someone who is skeptical about drugs and vaccinations. I also prefer natural remedies. I came down with a very bad case of the flu Thur. at midnight. I was the sickest I have been since I was little kid on Friday. I honestly wanted to die, I was crawling to get to the bathroom. I got my husband to have my doctor call in a prescription for Tamiflu and started taking it Fri night, at around 8 p.m. Saturday morning I felt 70% better and about 80% better by Sat. night. Usually when I get the flu it lasts for 5-7 days. I never throw up because I have a really strong stomach so I think that is why it takes me longer to shed the virus. But this time, the sickest I have been since I can remember, it is almost gone by day 2. I feel like I have a moderate hangover at this point but nothing compared to how I felt before I took the Tamiflu. They say you have to take it within 36 hours of symptoms for it to work.

Leave a Reply

 
